BC Conservative AGM: All Instigators Sent Packing!

Welcome Mr. President!

Today was a good day for the BC Conservative Party up-to and including the incident where John Van Dongen left the party.

The party elected Voice of Reason Al Seibring as president, Christine Clark as Vice President,Linda Bellamy as Secretary and re-elected Treasurer Lambert Leung .

Also elected were a whole host of new directors including Dan Denis,Dennis Beliveau,Daniel Brooks and Douglas Machan.

All the instigators of the last week were not elected and lots of new blood was elected to the board.

John Van Dongen left the party ( I told you that might happen in my post yesterday) and so the party has a chance to get some work done and elect some MLAs next May.

Van Dongen worked hard on the BC Rail file but he also worked hard at disrupting board meetings with his monthly ” I am getting elected with or without your help threats”.

During his goodbye speech John Van Dongen mentioned that the BC Conservatives did not work as a team. This is a concept that Van Dongen himself doesn’t understand as his demands on the board above illustrate.

Could we have done more to pacify him? Probably but he could have done more during the by-elections to help us too.

Sure losing an MLA is a blow but in this case the party is better for it!

Thoughts Anybody?